Skip to main content
SecurityTrax

How to manage Refund Receipts

What is a Refund Receipt?

A Refund Receipt is a way to refund money to a customer (for account credits see Credit Memo). Refund Receipts allow you to return previously paid amounts to your customer.

Where can I find Refund Receipts?

  1. While on a customer record, click Accounting.
  2. Under Invoices click Refund Receipts

Create a new Refund Receipt

In the Refund Receipt section, click Add.

Note: This will open up a stepped process. 

1) Get Started

Get started

  1. Pre-Populate:  select the items you want to refund.
  2. Click NEXT.

2) Details

Details

  1. On the Details tab, fill out all the required fields. 
  2. Make other changes if needed.
  3. Click SAVE. Optionally, the Save dropdown menu allows you to
    1. Save & Close,
    2. Save & Download/Preview, or
    3. Save & Send the newly created Refund Receipt. 
      1. Choosing one of these options will complete the selection and close the window. Clicking Save, only, leaves the window open to Apply to Invoice or Send the Refund Receipt with a customized subject line and message (see explanations, below).

3) Refund Payment

Refund

  1. On the Refund Payment tab fill out the required information.
  2. Select Choose payment method to apply the refund to an existing payment method or Create new payment method
  3. Select the payment method where the refund should be sent. 
  4. Click SAVE.

3) Send

Send

  1. On the Send tab, fill out all the required fields. 
  2. You can change the Subject or add a Message.
  3. Click Preview to see a copy of the Refund Receipt PDF that will be sent.
  4. Click SEND to send the Refund Receipt PDF.

View/edit a refund receipt 

  1. Navigate to the Refund Receipt section.
  2. Click on the desired Refund Receipt row.
  3. Edit the fields as needed.
  4. Click Save.

 

Delete a refund receipt

  1. Navigate to the Refund Receipt section.
  2. Click on the row of the desired Refund Receipt.
  3. While on the Details tab of the Refund Receipt, click Delete in the lower left of the page.
  4. A confirmation window will appear. To confirm, click Delete.

 

  • Was this article helpful?