Skip to main content
SecurityTrax

How to View/Edit a Permission Group

To view all permission groups 

  1. Click on Admin on the top navigation. 
  2. From the Admin menu, select Human Resources.
  3. Click Groups on the left menu.

To edit a permission group 

  1. While on the Permission Groups page, click anywhere on the row of the desired permission group.

To update the Group Details

  1. The required Name  is modifiable and can be changed here.
  2. Also, the description can be changed or added.

To update the Roles

  1. Click anywhere on the roles name box in the Select Roles section to include it (hovering over the box will highlight it, while clicking on it will place a check icon Screen Shot 2019-06-12 at 2.22.37 PM.pngin upper-right corner).
    • Note: Multiple roles can be selected. 

To update the Group Permissions

  1. There are several ways to select the resource categories of group permissions:
    • Click the check box at the beginning of the desired resource category to select all possible grants for all included resources.
      • Note: The box will be checked Screen Shot 2019-07-01 at 4.29.11 PM.png and the number of grants (in parenthesis) will be updated to the full count.
    • Click anywhere on the row to open the collection of resources (this allows you to be more selective in the choice of grants).
      • Note: The check box icon will change to the minus icon Screen Shot 2019-07-02 at 10.04.08 AM.png as individual grants are deselected.
  2. Either way, each individual resource can be expanded (click on the expand iconScreen Shot 2019-07-01 at 4.35.14 PM.png or anywhere on the resource box).
    • Note: The number in parenthesis is the total count of grants for this resource (the actions that are available for it).
  3. A fairly detailed description of the resource is given, including a list of all selectable Permission Grants
    • Note: Click View Attributes to view additional details about all resource attributes.
  4. Clicking on Select All will select all grants in the resource box, if not previously selected, or deselect all, if already selected.
  5. The Policies section allows this Permission Group to be limited in this resource's use (i.e., to a specific Office Location or Date Range). 
  6. Make sure to scroll to the bottom and click Save Changes on these grants before proceeding. 

Make sure to save the Group Permission changes

  1. Click Save Changes on the main Permission Group page.

Caution: Editing a permission group will affect the permissions of all users assigned to that permission group.

  • Was this article helpful?